2nd Act Farmer Looking for a Mentored Start

Farming Experience

Farming experience

3-5 years of experience

Type of farming experience

  • Gardening
  • Homesteading
  • Worked on a farm

Description of farming experience

I grew up working with horses and doing the work that goes into keeping them on my aunt's horse farm of about 30-40 for 15 years.

I found my way to wanting to farm later in life and spent several years studying before starting to build a homestead with intention to expand to a market farm. Unfortunately my husband fell ill and that dream had to go on the back burner. I was raising over a hundred chickens, turkeys, and ducks and a large canning garden, cultivating raised beds, and working on the infrastructure to introduce a few cows and goats to the operation on 18 acres in northern Maine when that happened.

Now I am on my own and looking to find my way back to work that keeps my hands in the soil.

Farming Plans

State(s) of interest

  • Connecticut
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont

Location details

I am open to multiple states and areas, but the length of the growing season, proximity to water, and existing woodlot will matter a lot.

Minimum acreage desired

5

Arrangements desired

  • Business partnership
  • Lease-to-own
  • Collective/group tenure
  • Something else

Arrangement description

I am flexible on the arrangements. At this time I am not ready to go into business for myself and would prefer an arrangement working with a small number of people for either livable compensation, compensation + board, or board with time to maintain an outside part time job to cover my personal expenses. Co-ops move to the front of the line.

Planned farming practices

  • Not certified, but follow organic practices
  • Sustainable/regenerative

Farming practices description

Minimal to no heavy equipment, mixed and rotational use of the land, no till cultivated raised beds, indoor and greenhouse growing.

Planned farming enterprises

  • Agroforestry
  • Cut flowers
  • Livestock
  • Perennials
  • Vegetables
  • Hemp, Nursery Starts, Mushrooms

Farming enterprises description

Most interested in livestock, hemp, vegetable, and nursery stock.

Infrastructure needed

  • Housing
  • Livestock shelter/housing
  • Greenhouse

Description of infrastructure needed

As long as I can be warm, attend to all my health and hygiene basics, and can have a dog, I'm very easy on what housing looks like. I don't need much. Existing greenhouse would make me very happy.

Business planning description

My ideal current plan would be to join an existing co-op or find an apprentice arrangement to learn more about growing at scale and distribution for 1-2 years depending on the projects. After that I would like to be looking to move to a permanent long term property to farm.

Additional Information

I am looking for a 1-2 year arrangement/apprenticeship on a small farm or co-op that includes housing for me and a dog. I am flexible on what that housing looks like and what is being grown. 

I am soft spoken, hard working, laid back, and determined to spend my days growing plants and raising animals while living a good, simple life. In my off time I'm an artist, climber, photographer, explorer, and eternal student.  

Growing food is work that I feel good about doing, work that matters, and work that brings me peace of mind. I believe that an expansion of local scale agriculture & co-ops will be integral to salvaging both the climate and our sense of community in rural areas. 

Please reach out and tell me about your projects if you think I'd be a good fit. 

Inquire About This Farm Seeker

In order to contact the farm seeker, please create a free property poster account.  Once logged in, you may inquire directly to a farm seeker using the contact form at the bottom of a profile.